Hallelujah

3 Apr


So it’s been a few since my last post. As a general update I AM IN REMISSION.

Jesus has risen!

Seriously though, a modified SCD diet has been doing me wonders. For the past few days I’ve not had any cramps, they’ve steadily decreased over the past month. Yes, those bastards do take their time. But overall my bathroom habits have returned to normal, have been for at least 2-3 weeks. It is sheer bliss.

Also, I am officially off cyclosporin, pictured below.

Pretty much true to size

Yes, they look like horse suppositories, but I actually took 3 of these twice a day with meals by mouth, chased with Zofran to suppress the nausea they caused. I’m dabbling with cutting out Asacol and Imuran as well. Don’t tell my doc, but (fingers crossed) I don’t think I need any meds anymore. As long as I stay grain/dairy/refined sugar free, I’m 95% confident I will be healthy.

Over the course of this past month, I have slowly introduced more ingestables.

Fruits

At around 1 month, I started to introduce raw fruit (outside of bananas). Be advised if you’re sensie to sugar, bananas are chocked full of them, so maybe start with half of one in the first few weeks of the diet. For a while the only fruit I was eating was raw bananas, cooked apples and cooked peaches. When I started to expand, I did so mostly with little chunks from fruit salad.

Just loving life
Any antioxidant berry I went really slow with, I wouldn’t eat blueberry skin for a while. Yes, I looked like a weirdo, eating one blueberry at a time, slyly spitting out each wrapper. But antioxidants are unusually hard to digest, so take ya time.

Now I have fruit smoothies pretty often, or a couple dried dates as a treat.

Dried fruits have been surprisingly well tolerated, I started with dried mango at around 5 weeks.

There was no noticeable effects, even when I ate more than my fair share. I think I’m going to switch to freeze dried fruit as it has a different but still awesome texture that’s less heavy and contains MUCH less sugar. I’ve noticed that an increase in fruits/honey in my diet causes breakouts, a little reminder that, even with SCD-allowed sugar, there is still such a thing as too much.

Veggies

I started with pureed carrots. Sauteed spinach was one of the first things I expanded to at around 4 weeks. Diced Eggplant sauteed with mushrooms was found to be super easy on my system as well. For the next two weeks I didn’t really discriminate, I would eat most veggies as long as they were cooked thoroughly. I had my first salad at around 6 weeks. At about 7 weeks I introduced cabbage – the MegaGod of difficult veggies.

I was probably polish in a past life.


I sliced it super thin and partially sauteed it with butter then covered to steam it until it became super soft. No problems, to my delight! I just bought brussel sprouts, so here goes nothing.

In general I still haven’t roasted many veggies, simply because steaming/sauteeing locks in more water to soften the veggies, making them easier to digest.

At this point (I’m almost 2 months into it) I’m able to tolerate all fruits and vegetables.

Not to be a General Mills Cereal commercial or anything, but I love me some Fiber.

Fats

I’ve been slowly able to introduce nuts. Mostly in lara bar form, as they’re softened by the surrounding dry fruit. I might make a loaf of my banana bread (bottom of the page here) soon, but I usually eat too much of it at once…

Avocado is my number one contributor to healing. It’s my favorite food and has been there for me when I can’t indulge in any other way. Luckily tomatoes have been ok for about a month, so I’m often making a guacamole or a chunky avocado salad for dinner and just living the dream. I just wish I lived in CA where the taste/price ratio was much higher.

I’ve also gained a huge appreciation for cooking with coconut oil. I used to just use it to make homemade chocolate and occasionally stir fry – but any frying with coconut oil is DELICIOUS. SLightly sweet, amazing. I made tilapia files, eggs, even almond flour-crusted porkchops. It always comes out amazing.



A version of the SCD diet called the GAPS diet promotes the use of fats, and I think in my case they’ve certainly helped. I’m not sure if it’s good to ingest too much fat at the early stage of the diet (I’m told they’re harder to digest), but the only time I had a problem was when I deep fried with 50/50 canola and coconut oil.

Also if you are frying and drinking alcohol, don’t combine them. That’s bad news bears. I advise to stick to sauteeing/pan frying if cooking with oils, and choose butter, olive oil, or better yet coconut oil (much more heat resistant) rather than canola or veggie oil.

Another thing awesome about the GAPS diet is that it allows you to fool around with cocoa powder and peanut butter. I don’t know if I’m ready for either, but I’m salivating at the idea. I found a GAPS friendly recipe for peanut butter banana cups using coconut oil. Click the image to check it out:

Peanut butter banana cups. Do these not look AMAZING?!

Also, folks over at Our Nourishing Roots have finally found a way to make a GAPS compliant, honey-sweetened chocolate. There’s also a recipe for chocolate peanut butter cups. Yum-a-lum.

Peanut Butter cups made using GAPS honey sweetened chocolate. Oh mama.



Alcohol

SCD-guru Elaine (Breaking the Vicious Cycle) says vodka is ok in small amounts. I’ve found that soda water still causes me a little bit of turbulence, but I was able to tolerate a vodka soda after about 1 1/2 mo on the diet.

She also says that and very dry (0 – 4g sugar/L) wine is ok. Can I just say it’s ridiculously hard to get a quantitative amount of the sugar content of wines? I checked with a knowledgeable Whole Foods staffer and was surprised at the thoroughness of his response.

His answer? French Bordeaux blends have the least sugar content, specifically blends that are dominated by Cabernet Savignon or Merlot grapes.

No-nos: He specifically warned against ANYTHING from California, most Spanish and Argentinian wines, though he did say *potentially* Northern Italian blends might be ok.

I did a little Wiki research, and French Merlot is slightly sweeter than Cab, and left bank Bordeaux blends tend to be Cab Dominant, whereas right bank Bordeaux blends are Merlot dominant. So I’ve been sticking to French Bordeaux blends from Medoc, and it’s been gravy.

Pretty sure this particular bottle costs $150. But you can get Bordeaux Medocs for as cheap as $10.



I recently had my first episode of day drinking in two years, and so far no detrimental effects. It feels good to be a wreckless 20-something again. On the weekend at least.

Caffeine

Coffee was introduced at about 1 and 1/2 months, and unsweetened is better than sweetened with honey.

All in all, it’s a process. As with anything, I try not to get carried away. But damn, does it feel good.

One Response to “Hallelujah”

  1. Pahniti April 5, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    see? if you had accepted my avocado breakfast when you were visiting, you would have discovered the magic earlier… unless you cook it, which I have had mixed results on

    nice to read your blog too.. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

